Water for Boddamma's family

A lack of access to water was a constant problem for Boddamma’s family of four. Read how through Water.org her family now has access to safe water at home.

Together with her husband and their three school-aged children, Boddamma lives in Janmma Bhoomi Colony, a slum in crowded, bustling Hyderabad. To collect enough water for the family’s daily needs, Boddama and her two daughters used to walk about one kilometer to fill their 30 vessels, and then walk an additional kilometer to collect drinking water. When all three females carried water, the collection process would take about an hour.

Sometimes, Boddamma and the girls would do their washing and cleaning at the taps, further increasing time spent away. This process required them to rotate missing school or work two days a week—meaning that Boddamma lost two full days’ worth of wages, and her daughters fell behind in school.

Boddamma decided to take charge of her family’s water needs. Through Water.org and partner organization, SIDUR, Boddamma was able to take a WaterCredit loan. She learned about WaterCredit from a friend who had already taken a loan to construct a tap at home. With the loan, Boddamma and her husband were able to pay for a water permit and for the installation of a tap at home.

Now, piped water from the municipal water line runs through the family’s tap once every four days. They have enough water now, in fact so much that they can share extra with neighbors in need. Boddamma’s eldest daughter, Ooha, was very enthusiastic about getting access to water at home through Water.org. She encourages others to follow her mother’s example by taking a WaterCredit loan, saying, “I don’t want others to suffer like I suffered.”

The success of this story was made possible by a generous grant from the Caterpillar Foundation.

Capital: New Delhi
Population of 1.2 billion
77 million lack access to safe water
769 million lack access to improved sanitation
59% of the total population lives on less than US$2 per day